Skip to content

Restaurant Week

February 9, 2012

Last week my husband and I did something totally out of character – we went out to eat not once but twice!  Bethlehem was holding its restaurant week where restaurants offer prix fixe menus.  They’re generally a good deal to encourage people to get out and try them!  Tim and I knew we wanted to hit up a favorite restaurant that was closed on Sunday so we decided to go there on Monday.  On Sunday though we were having trouble finding a restaurant to go to that was open!  We ended up at Bethlehem Brew Works even though we’ve been to Allentown Brew Works a few times and to the Bethlehem location for drinks many times.

I chose the BREWschetta as my appetizer and Tim got the spinach artichoke dip.  We had plans to share but we each ended up liking what we ordered the best.  I loved the balsamic in the bruschetta.

The vegetarian entree was a little boring – lasagna – but tasty!  We took most of our entrees home since we knew dessert was coming!

Pot du creme au chocolot for dessert!  Look at that oozing chocolate!  I actually liked the more solid top.

We left Brew Works feeling STUFFED.

The next night we headed to a favorite of ours, Cactus Blue, for Mexican food.  First up was red chilaquiles which are not usually on their menu but Wikipedia told me ahead of time would be tortilla chips simmered in salsa.  It was topped with lettuce, onions, queso fresco, and sour cream and it was so good!  I think Cactus Blue needs to add this to their menu!

For my entree I had a veggie chimichanga which was good but I prefer the burrito since it is mostly the same thing but not fried.

This dessert was the highlight of all of restaurant week – chocolate bread pudding!

We never get dessert so maybe I’m just out of practice but this was totally delicious and something I’d save room for in the future.

Although we didn’t try any completely new restaurants during restaurant week we did get to try some totally new dishes.  We’re looking forward to trying some nearby restaurants during Allentown’s restaurant month this March!  In the meantime I’ve sworn off eating out while we save up!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

