Skip to content

Common Ground

December 10, 2011

My husband and I don’t agree on a lot of things when it comes to food.  He thinks cupcakes are superior and I think cake is better due to fewer edges.  He loves bacon and I have been a vegetarian for 12+ years.  The one place we find common ground is cheese+carbs.  When I do cook dinner it is often this combination.  Quesadillas, lasagna, etc.  I saw this Bloomin’ Onion Bread and knew that it would be common ground.

IMG_8606

Here’s what you do – take a loaf of sourdough bread and cut it lengthwise and then widthwise.  Stick cheese in the slots and then pour butter, green onions, and poppyseeds on top.  And bake.  Seriously how could you go wrong?

Yum, definitely a fun dish!  I was winging it a little with the amounts because I had a mini sourdough loaf.  I encourage you to really slice your cheese thinly.  This bread serves as some fun inspiration for other recipes using different cheeses and herbs!  Garlic could definitely be incorporated into the butter mixture.  I’m thinking basil and parmesan in the summer!  Any good combo ideas for me?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristen Maier permalink
    December 10, 2011 11:58 pm

    That looks awesome! Guilty pleasure. I would definitely try it with garlic. Maybe rosemary.

  2. December 11, 2011 1:34 am

    This sounds sinfully delish! I think I’ll try this as my next dinner party!

  3. Tim permalink
    December 19, 2011 12:05 am

    Most amazing thing I have ever eaten!!!

Leave a Reply

