Skip to content

Potato Dinner

November 8, 2011

I might have gone a little overboard with the potatoes this weekend.  I was excited to actually have the time to make dinner on Sunday, something that hasn’t happened in weeks.  I wanted to test two recipes for a work potluck and I wanted to make a soup recipe I’d seen floating around the internet lately.  Turns out the common denominator in all those recipes was potatoes!

First up, the soup!  This Baked Potato Soup recipe is from Cooking Light and I’d originally seen a variation on someone’s blog and then I lost the link so I followed the suggestions of the readers on the Cooking Light page.

Baked Potato Soup

  • 4 baking potatoes (about 2 1/2 pounds) – totally guestimated this as I used about 8 smaller red potatoes
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 5 cups 1% reduced-fat milk
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) extra sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions, divided
  • 2 faux bacon slices, cooked and crumbled
  • Preparation
  • Preheat oven to 400°.
  • Pierce potatoes with a fork; bake at 400° for 1 hour or until tender. Cool. Peel potatoes; coarsely mash.
  • Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Place flour in a large pot; gradually add milk and vegetable broth, stirring with a whisk until blended. Cook over medium heat until thick and bubbly (about 8 minutes). Add mashed potatoes, 3/4 cup cheese, salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper, stirring until cheese melts. Remove from heat.
  • Stir in sour cream and onions, reserving some onions for garnish. Cook over low heat 10 minutes or until thoroughly heated (do not boil). Ladle 1 1/2 cups soup into each of 8 bowls. Sprinkle each serving with 1 1/2 teaspoons cheese, 1 1/2 teaspoons onions, and about 1 tablespoon bacon. Garnish with cracked pepper, if desired.

As I was only serving two bowls of soup, and the rest would be leftovers, I only made 2 slices of Morningstar Farms bacon.  I also was severely lacking in the green onion category so I’m not sure I even hit a 1/2 a cup.

IMG_8234

This soup is really not photogenic but please don’t hold that against it!  It was really delicious and even my soup-hater husband loved it!

On the side we had two sweet potato recipes that I wanted to try out before bringing one to work this week for our potluck lunch.

IMG_8241

First up was this Roasted Sweet Potato Salad that I’ve had bookmarked for ages.  I loved the idea of adding cranberries and pumpkin seeds.  How much more “fall” could you get?

IMG_8244

Unfortunately I didn’t love the dressing, something about it just tasted off to my taste buds.  Next time I might just roast the sweet potatoes and toss them in some olive oil and herbs along with the cranberries and pumpkin seeds.

The winner in the sweet potato salad war was this Moroccan Sweet Potato Salad.

IMG_8243

Roasted sweet potatoes, olive oil, lemon juice, cumin, paprika, cilantro and toasted almonds, yum!  How could you go wrong?  Oh, by adding parsley.  Parsley and I do not get along; we’ve been in a feud since childhood.  Do other people like parsley?  I’m contemplating just leaving the parsley out when I make this for work.  How does everybody else feel about that decision?  So many of my dishes include olive oil, cumin, and cilantro, so I tried branching out but I really wished it was just cilantro in this salad.

Overall potato dinner was a hit – and at least we got some nutrients from the sweet potatoes!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 8:51 am

    One can never have enough potatoes – they are so versatile and yummalicious… This food looks incredible.

  2. November 11, 2011 7:57 pm

    Mmm that looks delicious, especially the salads, and I don’t normally like potatoes! (although I do love sweet potatoes!)
    Your photos just make me want to dive in 🙂

Leave a Reply

