Skip to content

October Snow

November 2, 2011

So I left off here on Friday afternoon.  Friday evening was trick-or-treat night at our house!  Sadly we never got to buying or carving pumpkins in the midst of our busy fall.

IMG_8033 IMG_8030

We hardly got any trick-or-treaters but hey, that’s okay, more candy for us!

I worked Saturday morning and as soon as my group there left I came home because it was already starting to snow!  In a few short hours it was looking like this outside our house:

IMG_8049

Because the trees still had their leaves the heavy snow caused the trees to be knocked over.  There were branches and trees down all over the place.  They caused major power outages.  Our power went out right before my husband left for work around 1:00 so I spent the day huddled in the cold under blankets with the cats.  Once it got dark I was pretty bored!  I finished Bossypants and read a few magazines but it was hard to concentrate on anything besides how I was freezing!

IMG_8059 IMG_8060

The cats were not impressed with the cold although they did spend some time watching the snow fall!  Sunday morning we awoke to the realization that it was even colder in our house and we had no hot water so we headed to my in-laws for showers and to recharge our phones, etc.  We ended up spending most of the day away from the house including a stop for lunch at my favorite place in the world…

IMG_8068

Wegmans!  I tried their new citrus tofu sushi but I’ll go back to my vegetable roll next time.  The flavors just didn’t pop enough for me.

IMG_8067

We actually returned to Wegmans for a late dinner, which somehow escaped getting a photo.  We ran errands and also returned home to get all our refrigerated and frozen food out of the coolers in the snow and brought the food to my in-laws to try and save what we could.  We spent Sunday night at home and each went to our respective parent’s homes for showers on Monday morning.  Our electric company was projecting that we’d get our power back on Saturday evening, then Sunday morning, Sunday afternoon, Sunday night, and then it jumped to Thursday night at 11:00.  Every time we reached the time it should have been fixed they just pushed the time back, very frustrating, and did I mention cold?  The temperature in the house went at least as low as 49 degrees!

The power did end up coming back on Tuesday afternoon around 1:00 or 2:00 while I was at work.  I’ve never been so happy to pull up to the house and see a light on inside!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 3:35 pm

    I liked the photos of the cats. Very soft natural light in those photos.

  2. November 4, 2011 8:16 pm

    Gosh I can’t believe it’s already snowing where you are, I hope it doesn’t snow here for a while! Having said that if I get to curl up in my blankets with my kitty then I don’t think I’d mind so much 🙂
    Is it really bad that I haven’t heard of Wegmans, it looks like a brilliant place though!

    • November 5, 2011 4:05 pm

      It definitely should NOT be snowing where I am! Wegmans is a grocery store chain that started in the city I was born in and they’ve been expanding in the US since; I wouldn’t expect you to have heard of it! They have awesome prepared foods and bread!

Leave a Reply

