Skip to content

Race Season

September 28, 2011

I feel like running has taken over my life lately but I guess compared to most years it has!  Before 2011 I’d only run one 5k.  I’ve volunteered at a few but hadn’t raced in any.  Last year I ran the Women’s 5k Classic and had a ton of fun!  This year I signed up for the Miles for Coco 5k in the spring and then had a nice relaxing break before fall!

I ran the LVHN Via half marathon on September 11 and the LV Zoo Run Wild 5k on September 18.  Upcoming I have the Shades of Death half marathon on October 9 and the Women’s 5k Classic on October 16!  I was going to try and squeeze in a Halloween 5k but I think I’ll pass!  Maybe I’ll consider one of the Christmas races.

IMG_6087

(The firefighters who raced in their gear and still kicked my butt at the half on 9/11!)

So as you can see I’m only doing 4 races, it isn’t like I’ve gone off the deep end, but I do have them all crammed in to a 5 week period with two of them being half marathons!  Since I signed up for the Women’s 5k Classic and my first half marathon back in July and I won the Zoo 5k entry it hasn’t been as strenuous on my wallet this fall.  Honestly if races were cheaper I might do them more often.  I think they’re great motivation!  I never in my life would have run 13.1 miles or even my longer training runs of 9 or 10 miles had I not paid for the half!

I’ve got one more 8 or 9 mile training run and then it is half time!  Shades of Death will be an interesting race since it is the inaugural year and they’re only expecting about 400 people.  I hope I’m not ALL the way in the back, there’s usually a bigger crowd to blend in to!  I’m having some pain in one of my toes and a little knee soreness so I’m just going to try and relax and see what happens!

Once winter hits and I have to retreat to the gym I know my mileage will drop, I just can’t motivate myself on the treadmill!  Instead of aiming for distance which was my summer/fall goal, I’m going to try and do some speedwork.

I have no idea where to start though – any speedwork suggestions?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 6:03 am

    I’m not a runner so I can’t offer any advice but good luck in your training and in your races!
    I can’t wait to read the recaps 🙂

Leave a Reply

