Skip to content

LV Zoo Run Wild 5k

September 19, 2011

In July I won a race entry into the Lehigh Valley Zoo Run Wild 5k/10k through the Lehigh Valley Running Scene blog.  I was psyched to say the least!  I got to choose the 5k or the 10k and I chose 5k since it was shortly before my half marathon.  As it turns out Hurricane Irene pushed the race back to this past Sunday, one week after the half.

Sunday morning it was COLD!  The weather turned from hot to cold pretty quickly here!  We showed up at the race a little early and there was some confusion about my entry since I won it but wasn’t pre-registered and I couldn’t find the one person that would know I won it but the volunteers took my word for it and I was all set after a little bit.  The 5k and the 10k started at the same time on different paths.  I was glad when the race started since it was so chilly!

IMG_6358

My legs felt like bricks the first mile or so because they were so cold!  I guess I should be warming up?  I usually count the walking around I do before a race as warming up, oops.  I was just running along with everybody else though and soon noticed I was running fast!  Around the halfway point I realized I was on track to finish under 30:00.  My 5k (in the very hot sun) in May was about 34 minutes and last October I ran a 5k in about 33 minutes.  I am by no means speedy and I’m okay with that!  There was a not so nice hill in the last half mile that was killing me but I managed to come in with a time of 29:56 which means this was my first 5k under 30:00!  It wasn’t chip timed too and I didn’t cross the start line for a bit so in reality I was a few seconds faster, but I honestly thought I was finishing with more time to spare!

IMG_6395

IMG_6397

One of the best things about this race is that obviously it is in a zoo!  Only the end of the race actually runs through the zoo but it was so much fun to look around when I was done and while the 10k was finishing.

IMG_6422

I’m patting myself on the back for this photo of a penguin jumping off the rock.

IMG_6451

So stinking cute – I wanted to hug them!  Look out giraffes, penguins might be bumping you out of favorite animal status!

IMG_6460

I won this entry but the zoo is a great thing to have in our community and I’d definitely recommend supporting them and the race!  If you’re female show up early to get into the bathroom before the race starts though.  And if you’re running the 10k be aware that it is hilly!  We drove part of the route when we were driving out and I was glad that I didn’t sign up for the 10k.  There’s also a family fun walk a little later which would be great to take the kids to.  I mean real human kids.  The cats might have been intimidated by all the large animals.

All in all a great way to spend a perfect fall morning!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ren! permalink
    September 22, 2011 9:03 pm

    Congrats on finishing under 30 minutes! That’s impressive! You’re inspiring me to get back into running, by the way 🙂

    • September 26, 2011 11:19 pm

      Thanks Renjamin! I’m hoping to work a bit on speed over the winter when I can’t get outside! I really have no idea what I’m doing though – just winging it over here!

Trackbacks

  1. Race Season « sweetandtwisted

Leave a Reply

