Skip to content

Half Marathon Panic

September 10, 2011

This afternoon I went with my friend Amanda to Bethlehem’s newest festival, VegFest

22315673 Unfortunately the memory stick to my camera was in the computer so I didn’t really get any pictures.  It was a nice festival with a lot of variety in vendors – not just vegetarian focused.  There were lots of animal rescues, all natural products, eco-friendly vendors, and a runner’s corner.  The line for Balasia was very long as were a few of the other food vendors.  I think the places with no lines didn’t have a menu out so people were hesitant to stop there.  I got a tomato and goat cheese salad from Looper’s Grille which was good but nothing special except for the fact that I like everything goat cheese lately.  The festival was good in that it wasn’t overwhelming but at the same time I expected more vegetarian focused vendors!  Maybe it was a good foray for someone considering becoming vegetarian but for a 12-year vegetarian I didn’t learn anything new or see any new products/foods.

Afterwards we headed down the street to pick up my half marathon packet for the Lehigh Valley Health Network Marathon for Via tomorrow morning!

0910011430 I was expecting the “expo” to be bigger than the Women’s 5k Classic expo but it was definitely smaller with just Aardvark Sports Shop, Bondi Bands, and Vita Coco there in addition to a couple companies that weren’t related to running.  I know this is the first year they’ve had an expo at all though.

I got my packet from a very nice woman and some enthusiastic teens gave me my shirt and now I’m supposed to be all set to run 13.1 miles tomorrow morning at 7:15???  I’m nervous because it is a race now and I don’t call the shots like I did during my training and I’m not familiar with the route.  When doing my 10 mile training run I knew I was just a mile or so from home if I needed anything and I could always start my run whenever I was ready, etc.

We’ll see how tomorrow goes.  I’m going to try and have fun and not freak out like I am right now!  In the back of my head I’m already contemplating a redemption race October 9!  I’m going to wait and see if I still want to do it after this race before I sign up though.  I’m off to buy some iced coffee for the morning and then home to wash my clothes and lay them all out before an early bedtime – I’ll probably be waking up in 12 hours!  Wish me luck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    September 10, 2011 8:04 pm

    Go Lauren!!

  2. Tim permalink
    September 13, 2011 11:22 am

    You did great!!!!

Leave a Reply

