Skip to content

Labor Day is a Lot of Work

September 7, 2011

On Labor Day my mother-in-law invited us, my sister in law and her family, and my mom, dad, and sister over for a BBQ!  The rain brought the whole shebang indoors but it was still fun.

I made a dip that I found over at SkinnyTaste which my friend Kendall has a link to on her blog.  I generally don’t worry much about cutting fat out of my diet but this dip looked yummy so I gave it a go!  The recipe is so simple!  Next time I might add a little more mayo and sour cream because my dip look’s drier than Gina’s.  I might also add a little garlic or some onion flakes for more flavor.

IMG_5919

Between appetizers and dinner we had a little photoshoot and the girls helped supervise the cooking.

IMG_5946

IMG_5991

IMG_6000 IMG_6002

Then it was time for the main event!  A small salad and then a plate with a portobello cap on a bun, southwestern black bean salad, a little potato salad, pasta salad and corn on the cob.

For dessert I brought fruit pizza since berry season is about over!  My cookie recipe made three big cookies and I prepared two for the party (hm…the other is just sitting plain in my fridge!).

IMG_5915 IMG_5916

IMG_6018

I’m usually a chocolate person but the cream cheese+fruit+sugar cookie combo is so good!  We had a great day and it was fun to get to spend Monday together since I had off of work!  Now to put away all my white clothes 🙂 .

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 8:20 am

    looks like such a wonderful labor day BBQ!

    We were stuck indoors cause it down poured the entire day!

    • September 7, 2011 11:15 pm

      It has been pouring for days here! Such a bummer! We got a break with just normal rain on Labor Day though!

  2. September 7, 2011 8:33 am

    I’ve never made a fruit pizza before…it looks delicious!! I’ll have to remember to try one. Loved all if the pictures!

  3. September 12, 2011 6:02 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderful day 🙂
    Your food always looks so delicious!

Leave a Reply

