Skip to content

First Friday with Friends

September 5, 2011

On Friday I spent my day off in Lancaster with a friend from high school.   We’ve been talking about hanging out all summer and we finally followed through!  We met up in the afternoon and went to her favorite coffee shop/cafe Prince Street Cafe.  I got an iced chai and we split the garden quesadillas.IMG_5765

IMG_5773

GARDEN QUESADILLA Tomatoes, cucumbers, red onions, mixed cheeses & balsamic vinaigrette on a thin layer of cream cheese.

The tomatoes, onions, and crunchy cucumbers lightened up the quesadilla a bit and it was really good!  After making some stops around town we went back to her house and hung out.  Once her husband came home she made us pizza for dinner before we headed out again!IMG_5775

We went out to Lancaster’s First Friday event.  No, I’ve never been to First Friday in Bethlehem, my neighboring city, but I traveled to Lancaster for theirs!  Well mostly for the good company… :)  We stopped in a few galleries and shops and I think the highlight of the night was a couple pushing a bulldog in a stroller! IMG_5782

IMG_5787

Our night wouldn’t be complete without dessert! I picked chocolate chip ice cream because the chips were Wilbur chocolate!  Wilbur Chocolate Company is in nearby Lititz, PA and my grandparents used to take me to their museum every summer – and buy me a bag of their Wilbur buds (think Hershey Kisses) which I’d savor for months!

I’m so glad we fit in the time for a visit right at the end of summer! Now we just need to get together when my husband is free too.  Maybe that will be our fall goal!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

