Skip to content

Zucchini Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies and Overnight Blueberry French Toast

August 29, 2011

My friend stopped at my house overnight on a road trip she was taking so I was baking this past weekend!

First up I baked zucchini oatmeal chocolate chip cookies!  I found the recipe here and the only thing I changed was that I only used about a 1/2 cup of walnuts instead of 2 cups of nuts.  Unfortunately Tim still detected them.

IMG_5556

They were very yummy but they didn’t turn out as compact and chunky as the original poster’s cookies did.  I know that was partly due to the nuts I left out but I’m not sure why my cookies always spread more than other people’s!

Next up was breakfast which I whipped up while my friend was getting ready for bed.  This overnight recipe you prepare the night before and bake it the morning.  It did require one and a half hours of sitting out and baking in the morning so while I didn’t have to do anything in the AM I still had to be up!  The recipe below reflects the changes I made.

IMG_5567

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Ingredients
  • 12 slices Italian bread, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1.5 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese
  • 2 cup fresh blueberries
  • 10 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup syrup/agave
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon butter
Directions
  1. Lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking dish.  Arrange half the bread cubes in the dish.  Mix softened cream cheese with a few tablespoons of milk and spread or dollop over bread. Sprinkle 2 cups blueberries over the cream cheese, and top with remaining bread cubes.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the eggs, milk, vanilla extract, and syrup. Pour over the bread cubes. Cover, and refrigerate overnight.
  3. Remove the bread cube mixture from the refrigerator about 30 minutes before baking. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  4. Cover, and bake 30 minutes. Uncover, and continue baking 25 to 30 minutes, until center is firm and surface is lightly browned.
  5. In a medium saucepan, mix the sugar, cornstarch, and water. Bring to a boil. Stirring constantly, cook 3 to 4 minutes. Mix in the remaining 1 cup blueberries. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes, until the blueberries burst. Stir in the butter, and pour over the baked French toast

IMG_5609

Hello, come to momma!  Yum!  I might bake it longer without the foil covering it next time.  The bottom was a little soggy.

Other than baking I pretty much spent the rest of the weekend holed up inside waiting out hurricane Irene!  Our power only was out for a few hours Saturday night.  Hubs worked late Saturday and all day Sunday so I was just hanging with the cats.  My 5k at the Lehigh Valley Zoo on Sunday was postponed as was the Iron Pigs game we had tickets to!  We are going to the rescheduled double header tonight though!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 5:05 pm

    Thanks for trying my zucchini cookies recipe! Yours spread a bit more than mine for sure in part because of the nuts, but it looks like you might be using an insulated baking sheet. If so, that could contribute to spreading in general, too. Insulated sheets prevent the cookies from reaching the correct temperature as quickly, so they’re baking slower for longer.

  2. September 1, 2011 9:55 am

    I use just a standard half-sheet pan: http://www.amazon.com/Nordic-Ware-Bakers-Half-Sheet/dp/B000G0KJG4/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1314885201&sr=8-2, but any non-insulated, non-coated baking sheet should do.

Leave a Reply

