Skip to content

A New Gym

August 27, 2011

I’m sad to say that my gym buddy has left me!  A couple weeks ago the friend that I’ve been going to the gym with moved out of state.  This has been very sad for me in general, but also sad for my gym routine!  While I wasn’t working we were going to the gym about three days a week and when I was working we tried to meet up twice a week to work out at our local Planet Fitness.

Now that she has left I will be canceling my (super cheap) gym membership at Planet Fitness because my husband gets an ever better deal through work at 24/7  Fitness Clubs.  While PF does not offer classes or any frills, I was surprised to find that the equipment there is better than the (for most people) more expensive 24/7.  PF doesn’t have a ton of weight machines but what they do have is new and easy to use.  Sometimes at 24/7 I can’t adjust a machine because something is stuck and it is set for someone not my size.  PF also had arc trainers which I’ve read are better for your knees than elliptical.  24/7 has Stairmasters and rowing machines that PF doesn’t have but I’m not really interested in those.

So now I’m missing my friend and my gym!  Nah, 24/7 is a popular place where a lot of serious athletes go, so it will be fine.  I’m going to try and check out some classes after my 1/2 marathon to make my membership worth it!

Before my friend left Tim and I met up with her at Cali Burrito of course for a delicious burrito!IMG_5122

And then another night while running errands we went to Paninos, a place across from Target that we’d never been to.  My eggplant, pepper, and spinach sandwich was…okay at best.  I got it toasted but otherwise it was cold and the ingredients just didn’t meld together even though it sounded good!

IMG_5352 At least for now I’m running outside while I train for the 1/2 marathon, so I’ll keep you updated on the gym once the weather turns and I’m forced inside!  Hope I can find the motivation to drag myself there!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 2:36 pm

    So jealous of that Cali Burrito burrito! 😦 That’s the one thing I’m going to miss most about Brian not being there anymore. Well, that and Ice Cream World!!!

Leave a Reply

