Skip to content

Blogger Food Favorites

August 14, 2011

I made two things recently that have been making their way around the healthy living blog community for a while now.

The first is overnight oats.  It seems like everybody makes and loves this so when I found myself with an empty jar I figured I’d go for it.  Basically it is a mixture of equal parts raw oats, yogurt, and milk which you mix up, stick in the fridge and top with fruit, etc. in the morning!  I used oats, vanilla yogurt, and milk and stirred in some chia seeds, a squirt of agave syrup, chocolate almond butter, and strawberries.

IMG_5394

The verdict:  Hm…not sure about this one.  It was different eating cold oats and there was still too much liquid which threw me off…perhaps if I just adjust the ratio?  I tried blueberries at first but I definitely preferred the chocolate and strawberries combo.

 

Second we have Mmm Sauce which Mama Pea started and I read about when Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point became addicted.  I made it the way Caitlin makes it with lots of fresh cilantro because as far as I’m concerned you can never have enough cilantro.  I was surprised by how much this tasted like curry – I wasn’t expecting it because none of the bloggers mentioned it.  Since I was just using it as a salad dressing I added extra chickpeas, almonds, and cilantro to tame the curry flavor.

IMG_5412

The verdict:  This was really yummy!  But don’t believe the hype that it is cheesy!  Maybe if I was a vegan I would view this as cheesy, but I’m not.  It was a fun departure from regular salad dressing, plus it is nice and healthy so I gave myself a free pass to use as much as I wanted.  It is also very versatile.  I haven’t gotten a chance to try it out on the husband yet, but I’ll report back when I do!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 11:58 pm

    mmm ever since i discovered overnight oats i fell in love…at first i was a little naive and ignorant to the fact that one can even eat raw oats haha, but gosh they are delicious!!! yes it took me awhile to get the right liquid to oat ratio too…had to do the whole “oat draining” in the morning lol

    xoxo ❤

    • August 15, 2011 10:12 pm

      I guess I’ll try again! The make ahead factor is appealing to me – even though I’d only be saving about 3 minutes 🙂

Leave a Reply

