Skip to content

Wedding Weekend: Traveling

July 31, 2011

Last weekend Tim and I set out for Columbus, Ohio for my second cousin’s wedding!  The trip was about 8 hours including stops.  I had the genius – if I do say so myself – idea of packing some good car snacks.  This accomplished not only fueling us through our trip but also using up some produce that wasn’t going to last until we got back!

IMG_4784

I made a Thai Cucumber Tomato Salad and Zucchini Chocolate Chip Muffins and I also brought along some peaches, strawberries, and cantaloupe.

IMG_4785

We were both glad to have this refreshing salad (as well as some Smartfood White Cheddar popcorn 🙂 ) as lunch during one of our stops.  When we arrived in Columbus we checked into our hotel and admired the view before meeting up with my parents, sister, and brother for dinner.

IMG_4788

We chose the nearby Columbus Brewing Company based on the good reviews on Yelp and they did not steer us wrong!

IMG_4793

While a few people took advantage of their Restaurant Week menu my sister and I both ordered the Santa Fe wood fired pizza.

SANTA FE
John’s black bean “hummus,” pico de gallo, roasted sweet corn, chipotle
chili sauce, provolone and cheddar cheese. Finished with a light drizzle
of cilantro aioli.

IMG_4796

So so good!  I’m looking forward to recreating this at home!  Maybe without the chipotle chili sauce since it was just a bit spicier than I like.  We called it a night after dinner and woke up early Saturday morning to check out the hotel gym!  The gym was a lot nicer than the one at the hotel in Pittsburgh and I actually got a pretty good workout in, at least for vacation!  The included breakfast buffet followed our workout.  Blueberry pancakes, eggs, potatoes, and plain yogurt with toppings!

IMG_4801 IMG_4802

IMG_4806

Next up – we actually go to the wedding!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 31, 2011 10:39 pm

    I can share the happiness and your article and pictures. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

