Skip to content

Birthday Festivities

July 8, 2011

Friday was my birthday but since the hubs was working we pushed my official birthday dinner off until Monday.  On Friday after the cats gave me their present we went out to breakfast with a free coupon I got from Ihop.

IMG_3604

IMG_3630 IMG_3635

I ordered summer fruit crepes with a cream cheese filling with what I thought would be a little bit of egg and hash browns.  Turns out there was only one crepe and lots of buttery (not in a good way) eggs.  I wasn’t expecting gourmet out of Ihop but I guess I learned my lesson – stick to pancakes and omelets!  Afterwards my mom and sister came over to play with the kitties for a little while and then we went out to Homegoods and Panera for dinner.

On Monday we lounged around the house and did some yardwork before heading over to my parents for dinner.  Growing up we had a tradition where the birthday person gets to pick the menu for dinner.

IMG_3927

Okay so I don’t pick the most photogenic food – I love bland colored carbs!  In the back there are stuffing and mashed potatoes with a mushroom gravy, then spinach bread – which has probably been on my birthday menu forever!  Next my favorite goat cheese salad with candied walnuts and strawberries and a piece of grilled zucchini.  The rest of the family had grilled chicken for some protein as well.  I ate until I was so stuffed!

After dinner it is cake and presents time of course!  I left the dessert decision up to my family, I just specified that it had to be chocolate!  They chose chocolate cheesecake since my mom eats gluten free.

IMG_3934 IMG_3938

IMG_4103

Yes, this is a running tank that says, “There is no I in team but there is in ice cream.”  I picked this out myself at Homegoods but it still cracks me up every time!

IMG_4130

Yum!  Homemade whipped cream and berries go so well with chocolate!  What a perfect ending to my extended birthday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2011 3:10 pm

    That chocolate cheesecake looks insanely tasty!
    I love your blog by the way 🙂

    • July 11, 2011 12:31 pm

      It was! I enjoyed the leftovers too. 🙂 Thanks! I’ve been trying to keep up with posting consistently but I don’t always get it done. I like your photos, especially your kitty!

Leave a Reply

