Skip to content

Can I Really Run a Half Marathon?

June 19, 2011

I’m seriously considering running a half marathon but I’m hesitant to sign up because I’m not positive I’ll be able to do it!  The counter on the half marathon’s website tells me there are only 83 days left! 

I’ve been loosely following a half training plan but I have only been running 2 days a week for the past couple weeks and I really need to bump that up to 3 again.  I ran the longest run of my life last Sunday – 5.35 miles!  It took me an hour (55 minutes to run 5 miles and then I jogged to round it out to an hour of running) and I’m pleased with that time as well.  This weekend’s long 5-6 mile run turned into a 2 mile run and a 2 mile walk when I realized how hot it was!  I’m really not a fan of running more than say…5 minutes on the treadmill but I think if I want to run a half in early September I’m going to have to get used to it!

I also have days where I go out to run and each step is a struggle and other days when I go out and run 4 miles for the first time ever and feel great!  Will the excitement on race day push me towards having a great run instead of a dragging my legs along run?

I have until July 15th to decide because that’s when they bump the price up and I refuse to pay more than I have to for anything! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2011 9:39 am

    The short of it is: DO IT!

    It’s all about gradual increases in mileage, with a few rest weeks sprinkled in between. Your main goal should be to hit 10 miles two weeks before the race. If you can do that, then adrenaline and sheer will power will get you to the finish line. Training won’t be easy, but you won’t regret it once you finish and wear the medal proudly.

    • July 2, 2011 9:54 pm

      Thanks, I think I am going to do it! I have some knee problems plus I’ve just never been good at increasing my distance so we’ll see how it goes!

  2. June 21, 2011 2:50 pm

    I think you should do it! Just think about the sense of accomplishment afterwards. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

