Skip to content

Red Quinoa and Black Bean Vegetable Salad

June 17, 2011

Last weekend I made this Red Quinoa and Black Bean Vegetable Salad so that I could take it for lunch all week.  When I was looking for a recipe I went to Angela’s blog Oh She Glows because she is always making fresh and healthy summery salads!  I made one modification where I substituted tomato for red pepper.  The red pepper would have probably held up better after a day or two so feel free to use that if you’re a fan!

IMG_3100

Red Quinoa and Black Bean Vegetable Salad

For the salad:

  • 1 cup uncooked red quinoa
  • 1 (14oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 ears fresh corn, removed from cob
  • 1 small avocado, chopped into 1 inch pieces

For the dressing:

  • 4-5 tbsp of fresh lime juice (juice from 2 small limes)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt, or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin, or more to taste

Directions:

1. Cook 1 cup red quinoa according to package directions.

2. While quinoa is cooking, prepare the chopped vegetables and whisk together the dressing.

3. Allow quinoa to cool after cooking for about 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork. Add the beans and vegetables and toss well.

4. Drizzle dressing over salad and toss well with salt and pepper to taste. Bring salad to room temperature before serving.

Makes about 5 cups.

I really encourage you to go check out her gorgeous pictures!  They make me want to eat everything she makes! 

I took this meal all week and I loved it!  Next time I’d probably add a little more cumin and maybe some chili powder as well.  This was also the first time I made quinoa.  It was super easy except for the rinsing it before cooking part because I don’t have a sieve.

And here’s a random picture from the other night of my/my parents’ cat Jack looking like a wild cat in the jungle!  His harness is only half on because one buckle is broken but he was a very good boy.

IMG_3113

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

