Skip to content

An Unusual Saturday

June 8, 2011

This week I actually did something on Saturday!  On a whim Friday night my friend Kendall and I decided to meet up Saturday in between our houses to go to a JC Penney outlet store (I was in the market for some summer tops for work).  Kendall’s friend Megan joined us as well (at some point I guess I could start calling her my friend too 😉 ) and after shopping we stopped for a coffee and then we drove the half hour to see Megan’s not-that-new-anymore house that we’d never seen before.

By the time I left there Tim was just about getting out of work because he worked during the day instead of at night on Saturday.  We decided it would be a good night to use a restaurant.com gift certificate I gave Tim for Christmas!  We headed to Robata’s which is a Japanese hibachi restaurant in Allentown.

IMG_2662

I got a veggie sushi roll, avocado roll, inari, and a side salad because I love ginger dressing!  The hubs got shrimp and steak hibachi.

IMG_2668

IMG_2677

We were using our gift certificate which stipulated that you had to spend $40 to use the $25 certificate (which you buy for $10 or less) so we went ahead and got dessert despite the leftovers I was taking home!  We ordered the tempura ice cream with raspberry and chocolate sauce because I’ve always been curious about fried ice cream.  It was yummy!  I was expecting bigger scoops of ice cream but these were more like tablespoon size scoops.

IMG_2679

There was nothing wrong with our food, but I’m still not sure I’d return.  We have a ton of hibachi places around here and Robata’s seemed run down compared to the rest with similar prices.  The service was also incredibly slow, albeit very friendly, despite it being a pretty empty restaurant on a Saturday night, plus we had called ahead and made a reservation.  Tim absolutely loved the experience and the food, but I think he’d enjoy that at another hibachi restaurant as well!  I think we’ll at least try another place before we return to this one!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

