Skip to content

Memorial Day Barbeque

June 2, 2011

On memorial day I woke up early and started cooking!  Last year we had our families over on Memorial Day and decided to keep the tradition going this year.  On the menu was:

  • Hamburgers (made by my mom)
  • Hot dogs
  • Grilled portabellas, onions, and zucchini
  • Salad and coleslaw (brought by mother-in-law)
  • Corn on the cob (brought by sis-in-law)
  • Corn cakes with tomato avocado salsa
  • Southwestern pasta salad
  • Fruit salad (brought by my mom)
  • Watermelon lemonade

And for dessert:

  • Homemade chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches
  • Strawberry rhubarb (gluten-free) crisp
  • Watermelon and fruit salad

Honestly I’m nuts!  I planned on too many things that needed to be made the day of and was stressed out all morning.  Our kitchen is tiny too, so people headed outside while I cooked inside which made me feel like I was missing all the fun!

We did get to use a few of our serving dishes which I got at my bridal shower!  I took them out of the packaging for the first time to wash them on Sunday night!

IMG_2378  IMG_2398

IMG_2388

I give you this picture for a few reasons.  1. That is the ball bouncing off my niece’s head (her dear sister threw it) and her laughing.  2.  Look at our beautiful roses on the right.  They’re a little unkempt but I’m afraid to touch them for fear they don’t bloom next year.  3.  Look at our postage stamp size yard – my poor niece has to stand in the bushes/weeds to play!  DIY Network – aren’t you just supposed to show up and ambush us with a yard makeover??

IMG_2404

Here’s my plate with coleslaw and grilled veggies in the back and southwestern pasta salad and the corn cakes with tomato avocado salsa in the front.  Yum!  I found the corn cakes recipe here at Ezra Pound Cake and knew they’d be a great vegetarian summer entree.  I must say I do think I overmixed them as I was trying to prep ingredients ahead of time, but for most people they probably wouldn’t care/notice that as much as I do!  I’m going to try them again when not so much is going on.  I followed the recipe pretty closely except I added an extra tomato to the salsa to bulk it up a little more.

Dessert is always the best part of any meal – at least in my book! 

 IMG_2410  IMG_2413

IMG_2408

Are you ready for the easiest (but at the same time impressive) recipe ever?

Homemade Ice Cream Sandwiches

  • Chocolate chip cookies
  • Vanilla ice cream
  • Optional: mini chocolate chips (meant to do this!) or sprinkles to roll edges in
  1. Take out ice cream to soften.
  2. Match up two cookies that are about the same size.
  3. Scoop ice cream into one cookie and press the other one down on top of it.
  4. Roll edges in chocolate chips, sprinkles, nuts, etc. if you’d like.
  5. Stick back in freezer for a few minutes or hand right to waiting child.
  6. Enjoy!

I used Smitten Kitchen’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe but honestly I’d probably just make the Tollhouse ones since I know the recipe like the back of my hand and I don’t have to throw out an egg white.  Some people suggest freezing the cookies beforehand but I didn’t have any problems and I didn’t do that.  Overall I thought the desserts were a nice end to the meal and barbeque – not too heavy but sweet enough and with some ice cream to cool us down!

How did everybody else celebrate the holiday?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 5:03 pm

    I love ice cream sandwiches!!!! Glad you had a great day. I spent it with my fam it was nice to have a day off of work!

    • June 10, 2011 12:48 am

      I’ve been unemployed but somehow the holidays still seem like a day off! I guess because everybody else is off with me!

  2. Tim permalink
    June 3, 2011 1:22 am

    Those ice cream sandwiches were amazing!!! And seriously DIY Network, do the right thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

