Skip to content

Miles for Coco 5k

May 28, 2011

This morning my sister and I ran the Miles for Coco 5k!

IMG_2145

The race started at Sand Island in Bethlehem.  We ran past the playground and the Ice House and then up over the Fahy bridge, down off of it, and then back on the other side before making a right and going down by Musikfest and then back over to where it started.  I had no idea what the route would be beforehand!  It was hilly (both up and down) and that always slows me down.  It was also super hot today and not nearly as shady as I thought it would be so I took it easy and told my sister to keep running while I took walking breaks.  After the heat really affected me for a long time after my run on Wednesday I didn’t want to end up passing out at the volunteers feet after the race today!

IMG_2239

That’s my sister finishing before me :)  I think I ran it in about 35 minutes.  I can’t remember who was doing the timing right now and I forgot to start my Garmin when I started!  There were lots of volunteers and only one or two places where I wasn’t quite sure where to run but there were usually other people to follow.

IMG_2134

Coco, who the foundation was named for, was there looking cute! They had face painting for kids and plenty to eat and drink afterwards.  I thought it was a great event and a good turnout, especially for the first year, and all for a good cause!

All pictures compliments of my fabulous husband who came along despite the early morning wake-up :)  My mom was there too to hold our bags and drive!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Errign permalink
    May 28, 2011 2:57 pm

    Looks like a fun race 🙂 Seems like you had some nice weather for running!

  2. Tim permalink
    June 3, 2011 1:15 am

    I was so happy to go to this and take photos!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Race Season « sweetandtwisted

Leave a Reply

