Skip to content

Law School Graduation Part 2

May 23, 2011

After breakfast, a quick stop to pick up a Pitt shirt, and changing, we went to take some pictures outside before heading in to wait for the ceremony to start.  It was seriously sunny and we’re making weird faces in 90% of my photos.

IMG_1193 IMG_1206

IMG_1214 IMG_1231

The ceremony was held in Soldiers and Sailors Hall (which was much cooler than outdoors 🙂 ).

IMG_1292 IMG_1310

IMG_1358

Graduated!  There was no part where caps were thrown into the air. 😦  The University held a small reception in the Cathedral of Learning (which is the second tallest educational building in the world).  For some reason I didn’t take any pictures of the inside, just my food and one through a window near the top!

IMG_1379 IMG_1387

Afterwards we headed over to The Original Fish Market, located downtown in the Westin hotel, for dinner.  As indicated by the name there wasn’t much on the menu that was vegetarian.  They were more than willing to accommodate me but I went with a salad and two sides.  They also brought out an amuse bouche of something with crab for the table but our waitress brought me one of their watermelon caprese salad.

IMG_1393 IMG_1396

IMG_1398

The salad had cranberries, candied walnuts and goat cheese on spinach and it was so simple but so good!  I didn’t get a picture before I dug in!  My “entree” wasn’t the most photogenic thing ever but it was a cold soba noodle salad with a peanut dressing (that tasted just like the one I make at home!) and grilled portobellos with an onion relish/jam that was really really tasty.  The salad and the mushroom were definitely the star of the show for me!

It was late after dinner so we drove my brother back to meet up with his friends and we headed out across the state!  It was a crazy busy 36 hours but it was fun!  And congratulations again to my brother!

Leave a Reply

