Skip to content

Cinco de Mayo Tacos

May 5, 2011

We celebrated Cinco de Mayo a little early this year since Tim works today and I’ll be eating alone.  Actually, I had planned to make this meal on Monday and it worked out that it was a few days before Cinco de Mayo.  I can’t say we usually go all out for Cinco de Mayo but I can get behind a holiday celebrating an underdog victory and Mexican culture!  (Not that I’m claiming this meal is at all authentically Mexican!)

I had planned on grilling the vegetables but bad weather brought my plans inside so I roasted the veggies.

IMG_0850

I made some beans and rice (and corn and tomatoes) as a side dish, not really following any recipe and then I got all of our fixins ready!  Salsa, guacamole, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, cilantro and sour cream!

IMG_0853

And then it was roasted veggie taco time!

IMG_0857

We ate most of the roasted vegetables the first night so I’ve been using the rice and beans as a burrito filler for my dinners all week.

When we go all out like this with the toppings I find that it doesn’t feel like a “vegetarian” meal.  My omnivore husband certainly didn’t miss the meat in his tacos!  The same goes for quesadillas, another favorite in our house.  Maybe it is just Mexican food that is a big hit!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    May 9, 2011 2:23 pm

    The tacos were unbelievable. I want one now!!

Leave a Reply

