Skip to content

Easter Day

April 30, 2011

Growing up we had a tradition where the Easter Bunny hid our Easter baskets.  So Tim and I hid our baskets for each other and we hid Zero’s in a place she’d never look – right by her carrier which she hates 🙂 but we helped her find it.

IMG_0205 IMG_0209

We opened our own baskets before heading to my parents house for breakfast.  My sister and dad made the Muffins that Taste Like Donuts and scrambled eggs and sausage (none for me!).  Then we headed off to find our baskets!  I found one with a thyme plant in it for me, and another basket of treats!

IMG_0240 IMG_0256

IMG_0250 IMG_0261

We headed to Tim’s parents house and caught the end of the Easter egg hunt our nieces were doing.  I wish we would have been there in the beginning so I could have gotten more pictures!  By the way – those are their flower girl dresses they are wearing!  I heard they were a hit in church and they also wore them on Thanksgiving!

IMG_0351

We opened up our treats and watched the girls open up their overflowing baskets from Nana and Papa and then it was dinner time.

IMG_0417 IMG_0438

IMG_0419

IMG_0431

My husband ALWAYS has to lick the mashed potato beaters.  I brought Chilled Lemon Asparagus which worked really well because I was able to make it all beforehand and just poured the dressing on before dinner.  I got it from Sarah at Sarah for Real who was nice enough to send it to me!  (She just posted the recipe here after Meghann made it too!)  I had some leftover dressing so I made asparagus the next night too and used the rest on a salad later in the week!

IMG_0439

Dessert was my red velvet cupcakes as well as strawberry cupcakes that my sister-in-law made (we will plan better next time – neither one knew the other was bringing cupcakes!) as well as fruit.  I used this recipe for the cupcakes and cream cheese frosting but I wasn’t entirely happy with the taste of the cupcakes or the consistency of the frosting.  If you check out her frosting it looks so much thicker – I refrigerated mine for a long time too!  So even though I’ll probably try another recipe next time – many have had success with this one so I wanted to throw it out there!

IMG_0448

IMG_0451 IMG_0452

Haha – look at that goofball!  And little one looking so calm!  We hung out for a while and then headed home to relax!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2011 3:34 pm

    Those cupcakes look amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

