Skip to content

Morning Glory Muffins

April 23, 2011

Morning glory muffins are pretty much like carrot cake but without the icing.  I’ve made muffins like these before and I think they’re so great for breakfast…and lunch…and dessert!  They would be great on an Easter brunch menu.  They’re moister than you’d ever imagine!  I use this recipe as a base but below is what I actually did this time.

Ingredients
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut pureed
  • 1 apple – peeled, cored and shredded
  • 1 small apple pureed
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2-3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease 12-14 muffin cups, or line with paper muffin liners.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Stir in the carrot, raisins, coconut, apples and walnuts.  (I held the walnuts out  until the end.  I scooped 3 muffins without nuts for my husband, then added the walnuts for the rest.)
  3. In a separate bowl, beat together eggs, oil, and vanilla. Stir egg mixture into the carrot/flour mixture, just until moistened. Scoop batter into prepared muffin cups.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

I used a food processor to puree an apple to use it up and to replace some of the oil in the original recipe.  My coconut flakes are also very large so I went ahead and pureed them as well.  I also used the slicing blade of my food processor to shred the carrots and apple.  It made it so much quicker and there was less carrot on the floor than when I just use a grater!

IMG_9657

IMG_9661

Just thinking about these muffins is practically making me salivate.  If we had enough carrots and apples I’d probably be in the kitchen again making them!  Next time I’ll probably double the recipe and freeze some for easy breakfasts.  You know…if I don’t eat them all before they make it to the freezer!

IMG_9793

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

