Skip to content

A Very Irish Monday

March 23, 2011

I knew I wouldn’t have time after the parade on Sunday to really cook so on Monday I made Irish food!  I made vegetarian shepherd’s pie and Irish soda bread – two foods I’d never even eaten before!

The shepherd’s pie started out pretty…

IMG_9218

IMG_9247

..and ended up ugly but tasty!  I didn’t have red wine, so I used some red wine vinegar plus vegetable broth instead.  I used Morningstar Farms ground beef crumbles and Tim said he wouldn’t have known they weren’t real meat.  I added some minced mushrooms, but next time I think I’ll cut back on the faux meat and add more chopped mushrooms and veggies.  I didn’t want to stray from the recipe too much the first time since I didn’t even know what I was aiming for!

IMG_9220

The Soda bread was the real star.  It was really yummy and so easy since the leavening is from the buttermilk and baking soda and powder.  Of course I had to change the recipe a little 🙂 and I used currants instead of raisins which I thought worked well.  I plumped them up in warm water a little before I added them.

IMG_9234

The bread was really good – nice and moist on the inside.  It reminded me of a scone – great the first day, but does downhill quickly after that!  Maybe I’ll experiment with the recipe for breakfast so I can eat it all day long!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    March 24, 2011 7:13 pm

    The fake meat in this is unbelievably good. I really thought you accidentally made it with real meat. Also the soda bread is the best thing on earth.

Leave a Reply

