Skip to content

Toilet Paper Project

March 17, 2011

I declared that I was bored a few days ago and wanted to do something.  So Tim and I got out our toilet paper tube collection to count them!

IMG_8981

Actually in reality we were working on a project for Zero!  She got me a book about kitty games for Christmas (Hm…I’m going to get Tim a cookbook I can use for Christmas next year!) and we had plans to make one of the toys in it for her.  For months we’ve been squirreling away toilet paper tubes, although we might have gone a bit far!  We were short on glue for the hot glue gun so we ended up with this:

IMG_8985

Then you’re supposed to crumple up tissue paper with catnip and shove little balls of it inside.  Supposedly cats can’t help but stick their paws in there and fish stuff out.  Well she looked at it, sniffed it, knocked it over, then meowed up at us asking where the real catnip was.

IMG_8996

Cat toy fail.

These blondies I made afterwards were not a fail though :)  A perfect snack for watching Sunshine Cleaning which we got from Blockbuster Express for free!

IMG_9009

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 5:49 pm

    That’s hilarious. At least you didn’t buy a toy she turned her nose up at. Toilet paper rolls are a renewable resource.

    • March 31, 2011 5:28 pm

      Yeah we are tired of spending money on toys, beds, scratching pads, etc. that she won’t touch! This one only cost us a few minutes of time 🙂

  2. Tim permalink
    March 21, 2011 1:22 am

    haha. Kitty looks mad.

  3. lifewith4cats permalink
    March 23, 2011 8:46 pm

    haha That really is a lame toy isnt it? I LOVE how you put a pic of her meowing at you. Its perfect! And you went to all that work with the glue gun. LoL

    I have a diy section on my catblog. I don’t have any craft posts there yet (just woodworking posts) but if you do make any more cool cat toys like this that she loves… let me know so I can link to it and share the luv?

    • March 31, 2011 5:30 pm

      She was not amused by the toy, much like the rest of the toys we bought her in the past! I’ll let you know if we try anything else from the book!

Leave a Reply

