Skip to content

Veggie Cobbler?

March 13, 2011

I’ve been getting a lot of weird looks when I tell people about this vegetable cobbler.  Don’t worry, I didn’t substitute broccoli for peaches in a cobbler recipe!  In the Fall I made a vegetable pot pie that was so good, but honestly I don’t always want to make a pie crust and fight with rolling it out.  This vegetable cobbler from Ezra Pound Cake (a new to me blog) sounded like a good compromise since it has all the same flavors and a much easier “crust.”  It is filled with all sorts of veggies including mushrooms, sweet potatoes, and carrots.  I didn’t bother with the fennel she called for in her recipe, and just increased the amounts of some of the other veggies instead.  I cut back on the red pepper flakes after my so-hot-we-could-barely-eat-it sesame peanut noodles and I used more thyme on top, instead of dill.  I’m all about not buying extra ingredients I’ll just let rot!IMG_8894

IMG_8895 

The first night it was almost like soup and as leftovers the veggie portion was very thick.  It was also piping hot the first night since we wanted to eat ASAP so if I had let it cool it might have been less soupy (though this wasn’t a problem at all).  Tim said it was one of his favorite meals and I agree!  This is perfect for a cold night!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 6:09 am

    A gourmet who thinks of calories is like a tart who looks at her watch. ~James Beard

  2. Jill permalink
    March 13, 2011 3:11 pm

    That looks so good!

  3. Siobhan permalink
    March 14, 2011 2:38 am

    Hey, I found your blog! I agree with Jill, this looks great!

  4. Tim permalink
    March 21, 2011 1:28 am

    That was absolutely amazing. I’m so lucky to be married to someone who is so beautiful and amazing in the kitchen!!!

Leave a Reply

