Skip to content

Dinner Staples

March 8, 2011

Last Monday (I’m way behind but I didn’t want to miss this recipe!) I made Caitlin’s Santa Fe Casserole which is a staple dinner in our house.  The first time I made it I followed the recipe pretty closely, but now I branch out and do my own thing depending on what we have in the house.  For instance I added in cumin and tomatoes, and extra cheese, tomatoes, and cilantro on top! I also use all black beans because I just prefer them and I decrease the milk since I find it doesn’t need it and it cuts down on the cooking time.  Sometimes I throw some salsa in it as well!

IMG_8803

IMG_8804

I served it with some sweet potato fries (another favorite!) and leftover Olive Garden Salad (that I added some fresh lettuce to).

I had also made banana pancakes which were good, but not as good as plain pancakes, and they definitely have nothing on pumpkin pancakes!  When I ate them as leftovers I topped them with vanilla Greek yogurt, strawberries, pecans, and cinnamon which made them delicious!!

IMG_8819

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 5:49 pm

    That first recipe looks amazing. Can’t wait to try it. We absolutely love Santa Fe/Mexican flavors in our house. Have you thought about adding some light sour cream to the top once it’s done? It could rock. 😉

    • March 8, 2011 9:44 pm

      Thanks! It’s nice because I usually have the ingredients on hand! Sometimes if we have the sour cream out I throw some of that on too!

Leave a Reply

