Skip to content

Random Eats

February 15, 2011

This past week was a busy one, at least for the humans in this household.

There was a horrible house explosion and fire on Wednesday night that kept my husband at work for an extra nine hours (18 total) so nothing too exciting happened this week.  We just tried to catch up on sleep after that and keep up with our routine.

I’ve been trying to prepare salads and fruit in the morning so that when I go to the fridge later in the day I reach for them instead of candy or granola bars.  I think the most successful day of this attempt was the day I made this delicious salad of lettuce and spinach with apple chips, dried apricots and walnuts.  I also cut up a kiwi and grapes for later.

Wednesday after the gym I refueled with one of my pumpkin chocolate chip muffins from the freezer and a greek yogurt.  This is definitely one of my favorite treats.

Here’s another salad that was a little different for me since I usually stick to raw and boring ingredients.  Spinach, lettuce, colby jack cheese, sunflower seeds, and some leftover sauteed mushrooms and onions.  I think I’m going to try and make leftovers more often of ingredients like this to spice up meals later on in the week!

To close out the week on Friday I met my friend at the gym, then went to my parents’ to take my mom to a follow-up visit since her surgery.  I made it to the last half of my sister’s basketball game (all the way on the left in the white…and blurry) which they won!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    March 2, 2011 2:05 am

    yum- fruit and muffins… and there i am!

Leave a Reply

